Faculty

Pre-School
Katherine Anderson Anderson, Katherine
– Preschool Director
– Colts Kids Camps –  Summer Camp Director
– K3 Lead Teacher
A.A.S. in Early Childhood, Vance-Granville Community College
Years teaching: 14
Email: kanderson@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2124
McClelland, Jennifer
– Pre-Kindergarten (K4)
– Homecoming Committee Sponsor
– Varsity Cheer Coach
Certificate of Christian Ministry
Certificate in Early Childhood Education
12 years as Pre-K teacher
4 years as a T.A.
8 years In-home Daycare
Email: jmcclelland@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2122
Betty Jones Jones, Betty
– Lower School PE
– K4 through 3rd grade Computer
– 9th Health
– Soccer coach
B.S. in Health and Physical Education, Longwood College
Elem. Ed. classes from St. Paul’s College and ODU
Years teaching: 19
Email: bjones@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2122
Lower School
Hunter, Bonnie
– Kindergarten
B.A. in Sociology, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
M.A. in Women’s Studies, University of West Georgia
ACSI Certification
Years teaching: 7
Email: bhunter@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2201
Short, Wendy
– 1st Grade
ACSI Certified
Years teaching: 
Email: wshort@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2203
Brauer, Jennifer
– 2nd Grade
B.S. in Psychology from Meredith College
ACSI Certification
Years teaching: 27 (12 years at CCS)
Email: jbrauer@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2205
Doherty, Karen
– 3rd Grade
– ACSI Spelling Bee Coordinator for CCS
M.Ed. in Reading from The Citadel, S.C.
B.S. in Psychology/Sociology/Elementary Education from Russell Sage College (Troy, NY)
New York Permanent Certification (N-8)
ACSI Certification
Years teaching: 8 years at CCS
Email: kdoherty@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2211
Capps, Anita
– 4th Grade Math, Science, Bible
B.A. in Elementary Education K-6, Math 5 – Algebra I, Marshall University
ACSI Certification
Virginia State License
Years teaching: 11.5
Email: acapps@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2212
Pernell, Jamie W.
– 4th Grade
B.S. in Elementary Education from East Carolina University
NC Certification – Child Development and Family Relations (CDFR)
Years teaching: 10
Email: jpernell@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2213
Bartholomew, Alison
– 5th Grade
B.S. in Elementary Education from Campbell University
NC Certification: K-6 & Middle School Language Arts
ACSI Certification – in progress
Years teaching: 7 in the classroom; 7 homeschool
Email: abartholomew@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2216
Burton, Kim
– Reading Specialist
– Media Center
– Lower School Lead Teacher
B.A. in History, Meredith College
K-6 NC Certification
ACSI Certification
Years teaching: 22
Email: kburton@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2131
Parker, Tracy
— Lower School Assistant
— Procter for Sevenstar Academy online Foreign Language classes (11th/12th grade)
A.A.S. in Microcomputer Systems Technology, Vance-Granville Community College
Years teaching: 3
Email: tparker@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2614
  Jarrell, Alicia
– Music
– After-School Care Program
B.A. in Music, Lee University
M.A. in Business Leadership & Management, Liberty University
M.A. in Human Services Counseling (Family & Children)
Years teaching: 1
Email: ajarrell@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2404/2202
  Ficek, Robin
– Assistant for K4
Years teaching: 8 in pre-school
Email: rficek@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2122
Upper School
Anderson, Tracy
– 9th Homeroom
– 6th, 9th, 10th, & 11th History
– 8th High School Prep elective (4th quarter)
– Coach: JV & Varsity Girls Volleyball
B.A. in Religious Education, Davis College; Broome Community College
ACSI Certification
Years teaching: 12
Email: tanderson@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2603
Capps, Jonathan (Headmaster)
– Personal Finance (12th grade)
B.S. in Business Management, Liberty University
M.Ed. in Administration & Supervision, Liberty University
Years teaching: 18
ACSI Certification
Email: jcapps@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2104
Choplin, Kelly
– HS Electives – Computer Applications
– College Admissions Counselor
– Web Manager
– Student Council Adviser
– National Honor Society Co-Adviser
B.A. in English (Writing & Editing Track), North Carolina State University
M.S. in Instructional Technology, East Carolina University
Years teaching (community college & K-12): 25
ACSI Certified
Email: kchoplin@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2109
Jenny Cranfill Cranfill, Jenny
– 6th & 7th Science
– 8th Physical Science
– Biology I & II
– Science Lab
B.A. in Psychology, University of North Carolina – Wilmington
ACSI Certified
Years teaching: 2
Email: jcranfill@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2604
Fleming, Bethany
– 8th, 11th, & 12th English
– 9th & 10th Honors English
B.A. in Communications with a minor in English and Women’s Ministry from Louisiana Baptist University
ACSI Certification; FACCS; Pre-AP in English
Years teaching: 14
Email: bfleming@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2613
Hale, Aaron
– 6th – 9th Bible
– High School Boys Strength & Conditioning
– Coach: Varsity Golf & Varsity Boys Soccer
B.A. in History from University of North Florida
M.Div. with Christian Ministry, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
Years teaching: 5
ACSI Certification
Email: ahale@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2605
 Alicia Jarrell Jarrell, Alicia
– Music
– After-School Care Program
B.A. in Music, Lee University
M.A. in Business Leadership & Management, Liberty University
M.A. in Human Services Counseling (Family & Children)
Years teaching: 1
Email: ajarrell@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2404/2202
Betty Jones Jones, Betty
– Lower School PE
– K4 through 3rd grade Computer
– 9th Health
– Soccer coach
B.S. in Health and Physical Education, Longwood College
Elem. Ed. classes from St. Paul’s College and ODU
Years teaching: 19
Email: bjones@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2122
May, Mandy
– 8th Grade Class Sponsor
– 6th & 7th English
– 7th &  8th History
– Yearbook Adviser
– Coach – MS Girls Basketball
B.S. in Communications from East Carolina University
M.A. in Teaching from East Carolina University
ACSI Certification
Years teaching: 5
Email: amay@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2601
McClelland, Britney
– Geometry
– Functions, Statistics, & Trigonometry
– Honors Precalculus
– Honors Calculus
– Honors Algebra I
– Honors Algebra II
– Girls Strength & Conditioning
– Middle School Boys Soccer Coach
B.S. in Sports Management from North Carolina State University
A.A.S. from Wake Technical Community College
Years teaching: 2
Email: bmcclelland@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2602
Newbern, Annette
– K3 through 12th Grade Art
– 4th-8th Computer
– ACSI Art Festival Coordinator
B.S. in Commercial Art/Graphic Design; Minor in Computer Technology & Marketing, Appalachian State University
Years teaching: 7
ACSI Certification
Email: anewbern@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2403
Mrs. O'Steen O’Steen, Jenny
– 6th Grade Sponsor
– 6th, 7th, 8th Math
– Algebra I
– Algebra II
– 6th Study Skills
– 7th Math Skills
– Mascot Sponsor
B.A. in Communications/Psychology, University of South Alabama
M.A. in Teaching, North Carolina State University
NC State Certified K-6
Math Specialist Licensure 6th-9th grade
Years teaching: 13
ACSI Certified
Email: josteen@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2608
Parker, Jamie
– Ecology
– Chemistry
– 9th Old Testament
– Athletic Director
B.S./M.S. in Food Science, North Carolina State University
M. Div., Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
ACSI Certification
Years teaching: 11
Email: jparker@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2604
Russell, Ryan
– 11th Grade Class Sponsor (Prom)
– 10th, 11th, 12th Bible
– Honors Geometry
– Functions, Statistics, & Trigonometry
– Praise Band Coordinator
B.S. in Computer Science & Math, Averett University
M.A. in Christian Education, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
10 years as a youth pastor
Years teaching: 7
ACSI Certification – Professional
Email: rrussell@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2615
Salinas, Christina
– 12th Grade Homeroom
– 9th & 10th Writing & Communications
– 11th & 12th Honors English
– Honors Literature
– Senior Sponsor
– B.A. in English (Concentration in Secondary Education), North Carolina State University
Years teaching: 9
ACSI Certified
NC Teaching License
Email: csalinas@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2607
Thomas, Mandy
– 12th Grade Modern US History; American Government
– RenWeb Administrator
– Curriculum Coordinator
– ACSI Coordinator
B.A. in Social Sciences and Biblical Studies, William Carey College
Years teaching: 15
ACSI Certification
Email: mthomas@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2110