Faculty

Pre-School
 Katherine Anderson Anderson, Katherine
– Preschool Director
– K3 Lead Teacher
– Summer Camp Director
A.A.S. in Early Childhood, Vance-Granville Community College
Years teaching: 14
Email: kanderson@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2124
 Jen McClelland McClelland, Jennifer
– Pre-Kindergarten (K4)
– Homecoming Committee Sponsor
– Varsity Cheer Coach
Certificate of Christian Ministry
Certificate in Early Childhood Education
9 years as Pre-K teacher
4 years as a T.A.
8 years In-home Daycare
Email: jmcclelland@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2122
Betty Jones Jones, Betty
– Lower School PE
– K4 through 3rd grade Computer
– 9th Health
– Soccer coach
B.S. in Health and Physical Education, Longwood College
Elem. Ed. classes from St. Paul’s College and ODU
Years teaching: 18
Email: bjones@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2122
Lower School
Bonnie Hunter Hunter, Bonnie
– Kindergarten
B.A. in Sociology
M.A. in Women’s Studies
ACSI Certified
Years teaching: 5
Email: bhunter@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2206
Tracy Parker Parker, Tracy
— Media Center Assistant
— Procter for Sevenstar Academy online Foreign Language classes (11th grade)
A.A.S. in Microcomputer Systems Technology, Vance-Granville Community College
Years teaching: 2
Email: tparker@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2131
Mrs. Beveridge Beveridge, Amanda
– 1st Grade
– Little Colts Coach
B.A. in Communications from North Carolina State University
ACSI Certified
Years teaching: 19
Email: abeveridge@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2203
Jennifer Brauer Brauer, Jennifer
– 2nd Grade
B.S. in Psychology from Meredith College
K-6 NC Certification
ACSI Certified
Years teaching: 25
Email: jbrauer@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2205
Karen Doherty Doherty, Karen
– 3rd Grade
– ACSI Spelling Bee Coordinator for CCS
– Little Colts Assistant Coach
M.Ed. in Reading from The Citadel, S.C.
B.S. in Psychology/Sociology/Elementary Education from Russell Sage College (Troy, NY)
New York Permanent Certification (N-8)
ACSI Certified
Years teaching: 28
Email: kdoherty@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2211
 Denise Himes Bennett Himes, Denise
– 3rd Grade
M.Ed. in Teaching & Learning from Liberty University
ACSI Certified
Years teaching: 5
Email: dhimes@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2211
  Pernell, Jamie
– 4th Grade
B.S. in Elementary Education from East Carolina University
NC Certification – Child Development and Family Relations (CDFR)
Years teaching: 9
Email: jpernell@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2213
 Ms. Bartholomew Bartholomew, Alison
– 5th Grade
B.S. in Elementary Education from Campbell University
NC Certification: K-6 & Middle School Language Arts
Years teaching: 6 in the classroom; 7 homeschool
Email: abartholomew@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2216
 Kim Burton Burton, Kim
– Reading Specialist
– Media Center
– Lower School Lead Teacher
B.A. in History, Meredith College
K-6 NC Certification
ACSI Certified
Years teaching: 21
Email: kburton@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2204
Mrs. Capps Capps, Anita
– Math Specialist
B.A. in Elementary Education K-6, Math 5 – Algebra I, Marshall University
Years teaching: 10
Email: acapps@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2212
Rhonda Page Page, Rhonda
– K3 through 5th Grade Music
– 6th-8th Chorus
A.A.S. in Fine Arts from North Greenville Baptist College
B.M.E. Choral from Winthrop University
M.A.C.E. from Campbell University Divinity School
ACSI Certified
Years teaching: 7
Email: rpage@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2404
 Mrs. Ficek Ficek, Robin
– After-School Care
– Assistant for K3, 1st, & 2nd grades
Years teaching: 7 in pre-school
Email: rficek@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2202
Upper School
Tracy Anderson Anderson, Tracy
– 9th Homeroom
– 6th, 7th, 9th, 10th, & 11th History
– 8th Study Skills elective (3rd quarter)
– Coach: JV Girls Volleyball & Varsity Girls Basketball
B.A. in Religious Education, Davis College; Broome Community College
ACSI Certified
Years teaching: 11
Email: tanderson@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2603
Mr. Capps Capps, Jonathan (Headmaster)
– Personal Finance
B.S. in Business Management, Liberty University
M.Ed. in Administration & Supervision, Liberty University
Years teaching: 17
ACSI Certified
Email: jcapps@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2104
Kelly Choplin Choplin, Kelly
– HS Electives – Computer Applications I & II
– College Admissions Counselor
– Web Manager
– National Honor Society Adviser
B.A. in English (Writing & Editing Track), North Carolina State University
M.S. in Instructional Technology, East Carolina University
Years teaching (community college & K-12): 24
ACSI Certified
Email: kchoplin@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2109
 Ms. Fleming Fleming, Bethany
– 8th, 11th, & 12th English
– 9th & 10th Honors English
B.A. in Communications with a minor in English and Women’s Ministry from Louisiana Baptist University
ACSI Certification; FACCS; Pre-AP in English
Years teaching: 13
Email: bfleming@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2613
 Mr. Gunnels Gunnels, Mac
– 11th Chemistry
– 12th Physics
– Science Lab elective
B.A. in Secondary Education from North Georgia University
B.S. in Physics from North Georgia University
M.A. in Intercultural Studies from Southeastern Theological Seminary
ACSI Lifetime Certification; IT certifications
Years teaching: 10
Email: mgunnels@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2114
Mr. Hale Hale, Aaron
– 7th Homeroom
– 6th – 9th Bible
– High School Boys Strength & Conditioning
– Coach: Varsity Golf & Varsity Boys Soccer
B.A. in History from University of North Florida
M.Div. with Christian Ministry, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
Years teaching: 4
ACSI Certified
Email: ahale@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2605
Ms. Jones Jones, Betty
– Lower School PE
– K4 through 3rd grade Computer
– 9th Health
– Soccer coach
B.S. in Health and Physical Education, Longwood College
Elem. Ed. classes from St. Paul’s College and ODU
Years teaching: 18
Email: bjones@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2122
  May, Mandy
– 8th Grade Homeroomo
– 6th-7th English
– 8th History
– 12th Speech & Debate
– Yearbook Adviser
B.S. in Communications from East Carolina University
M.A. in Teaching from East Carolina University
ACSI Certification (in progress)
Years teaching: 4
Email: amay@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2601
 Mrs. McClelland McClelland, Britney
– Geometry
– Functions, Statistics, & Trigonometry
– Algebra I
– Algebra II Honors
– Middle School Boys Soccer Coach
B.S. in Sports Management from North Carolina State University
A.A.S. from Wake Technical Community College
Years teaching: 1st year
Email: bmcclelland@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2602
Mrs. Meisnere Meisnere, Laura
– 6th Life Science
– 7th Pre-Algebra
– 7th Vocabulary
– 10th Honors Algebra II
– Honors Precalculus
– Honors Calculus
– 7th Math/English Skills (2nd qtr. elective)
B.S. in Mathematics; minor in English Literature, Francis Marion University
Years teaching: 8
ACSI Certified
Email: lmeisnere@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2614
 Mrs. Salinas Salinas, Christina
– 12th Grade Homeroom
– 9th & 10th English
– 10th Writing & Communications
– 11th & 12th Honors English
– Honors Literature
– Senior Sponsor
– B.A. in English (Concentration in Secondary Education), North Carolina State University
Years teaching: 8
ACSI Certified
NC Teaching License
Email: csalinas@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2607
Mrs. Newbern Newbern, Annette
– K3 through 12th Grade Art
– 4th-8th Computer
– ACSI Art Festival Coordinator
B.S. in Commercial Art/Graphic Design; Minor in Computer Technology & Marketing, Appalachian State University
Years teaching: 6
ACSI Certified
Email: anewbern@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2403
Mrs. O'Steen O’Steen, Jenny
– 6th Homeroom
– 6th, 7th, 8th Math
– 8th Science
– 6th Study Skills
– Algebra I
– Student Council Sponsor
B.A. in Communications/Psychology, University of South Alabama
M.A. in Teaching, North Carolina State University
NC State Certified K-6
Math Specialist Licensure 6th-9th grade
Years teaching: 12
ACSI Certified
Email: josteen@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2608
Rhonda Page Page, Rhonda
– K3 through 5th Grade Music
– 6th-8th Chorus
A.A.S. in Fine Arts from North Greenville Baptist College
B.M.E. Choral from Winthrop University
M.A.C.E. from Campbell University Divinity School
ACSI Certified
Years teaching: 6
Email: rpage@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2404
Mr. Parker Parker, Jamie
– 7th Earth Science
– 9th-12th Science
– Science Lab elective
– Coach: Middle School Basketball
B.S./M.S. in Food Science, North Carolina State University
M. Div., Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
ACSI Certified
Years teaching: 10
Email: jparker@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2604
Mr. Russell Russell, Ryan
– 11th Homeroom
– 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th Bible
– Geometry
– Functions, Statistics, & Trigonometry
– Praise Band Coordinator
B.S. in Computer Science & Math, Averett University
M.A. in Christian Education, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
10 years as a youth pastor
Years teaching: 6
ACSI Certified
Email: rrussell@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2615
Ms. Thomas Thomas, Mandy
– 10th Grade Honors History
– 12th Grade Modern US History; American Government
– RenWeb Administrator
– Curriculum Coordinator
– Upper School Lead Teacher
– ACSI Coordinator
B.A. in Social Sciences and Biblical Studies, William Carey College
Years teaching: 14
ACSI Certified
Email: mthomas@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2110