Faculty

Pre-School
Katherine Anderson Anderson, Katherine
– Preschool Director (K3)
– Colts Kids Camps –  Summer Camp Director
– K3 Lead Teacher
A.A.S. in Early Childhood, Vance-Granville Community College
Years teaching: 18
Email: kanderson@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2124
McClelland, Jennifer
– Pre-Kindergarten (K4)
– Homecoming Committee Sponsor
– Varsity Cheer Coach
Certificate of Christian Ministry
Certificate in Early Childhood Education
13 years as Pre-K teacher
4 years as a T.A.
8 years In-home Daycare
Email: jmcclelland@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2122
  Ficek, Robin
– Assistant for K3 & K4
– Assistant for 3rd & 4th grades
Years teaching: 12 in pre-school as teacher assistant
Email: rficek@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2122
Lower School
Hunter, Bonnie
– Kindergarten
– Coach for Little Colts Cheer Squad
B.A. in Sociology, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
M.A. in Women’s Studies, University of West Georgia
ACSI Certification
Years teaching: 8
Email: bhunter@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2201
Wade, Jennifer
– Kindergarten
B.S. in Elementary Education, Liberty University
ACSI Certification – in progress
Years teaching: 2
Email: jwade@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2203
Short, Wendy
– 1st Grade
B.S. in Child Development from Meredith College
K-6 NC Certification
ACSI Certification
Years teaching: 20
Email: wshort@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2206
Brauer, Jennifer
– 2nd Grade
B.S. in Psychology from Meredith College
ACSI Certification
Years teaching: 27
Email: jbrauer@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2205
Doherty, Karen
– 3rd Grade
– ACSI Spelling Bee Coordinator
M.Ed. in Reading from The Citadel, S.C.
B.S. in Psychology/Sociology/Elementary Education from Russell Sage College (Troy, NY)
New York Permanent Certification (N-8)
ACSI Certification
Years teaching: 9 years at CCS (31 total)
Email: kdoherty@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2211
Jamie Pernell Pernell, Jamie W.
– 4th Grade
B.S. in Elementary Education from East Carolina University
NC Certification – Child Development and Family Relations (CDFR)
Years teaching: 10
Email: jpernell@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2213
Bartholomew, Alison
– 5th Grade Math, History, Bible
B.S. in Elementary Education from Campbell University
NC Certification: K-6 & Middle School Language Arts
ACSI Certification
Years teaching: 8 in the classroom; 7 homeschool
Email: abartholomew@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2216
Hollie Crickenberger Crickenberger, Hollie
– 5th Language Arts, Science, English
B.S. in Psychology from Lees-McRae College
M.A.T. in Elementary  Education from Liberty University (in progress)
ACSI Certification in progress
Years teaching: 2 years as teacher assistant; 1 year as lead teacher
Email: hcrickenberger@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2212
Mr. Hardy Hardy, Greg
– Lower School Physical Education
– Principal
Ed.S. Liberty University – Educational Leadership
M.S. Radford University – Guidance & Counseling
B.S. Virginia Tech – Physical Education
A.A.S. – Ferrum College – Engineering
Years teaching: 30
Email: ghardy@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2110
Jarrell, Alicia
– Music (K3 – 8th)
– Computer (K4 – 4th)
– After-School Care Program
B.A. in Music, Lee University
M.A. in Business Leadership & Management, Liberty University
M.A. in Human Services Counseling (Family & Children)
ACSI Certified
Years teaching: 2
Email: ajarrell@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2404/2202
Upper School
Anderson, Tracy
– 11th Grade Co-Sponsor
– 6th, 9th-12th History
– Concurrent enrollment class – History
B.A. in Religious Education, Davis College;
Broome Community College
ACSI Certification
Years teaching: 13
Email: tanderson@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2603
Capps, Anita
– 6th-8th Math
–  Algebra I
– Algebra II
– 6th Study Skills
B.A. in Elementary Education K-6, Math 5 – Algebra I Marshall University
ACSI Certification
Virginia State License
Years teaching: 12
Email: acapps@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2602
Capps, Jonathan E. (Headmaster)
– Personal Finance (9th grade & high school elective)
B.S. in Business Management, Liberty University
M.Ed. in Administration & Supervision, Liberty University
Years teaching: 19
ACSI Certification
Email: jcapps@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2104
Mrs. Choplin Choplin, Kelly
– HS Computer 
– Concurrent enrollment class – Computer
– College Admissions Counselor
– Web Manager
– Student Council Adviser
B.A. in English (Writing & Editing Track), North Carolina State University
M.S. in Instructional Technology, East Carolina University
Years teaching (community college & K-12): 26
ACSI Certified
Email: kchoplin@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2109
Jenny Cranfill Cranfill, Jenny
– 6th – 9th Science
B.A. in Psychology, University of North Carolina – Wilmington
ACSI Certification
Years teaching: 3
Email: jcranfill@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2604
Fleming, Bethany
– 8th-12th CP English
– 11th Honors English
–  Yearbook Adviser
B.A. in Communications with a minor in English and Women’s Ministry from Louisiana Baptist University
ACSI Certification; FACCS; Pre-AP in English
Years teaching: 14
Email: bfleming@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2613
Hale, Aaron
– 7th, 9th-11th Bible
B.A. in History from University of North Florida
M.Div. with Christian Ministry, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
Years teaching: 6
ACSI Certification
Email: ahale@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2605
 Alicia Jarrell Jarrell, Alicia
– Music (K3 – 8th)
– Computer (K4 – 4th)
– After-School Care Program
B.A. in Music, Lee University
M.A. in Business Leadership & Management, Liberty University
M.A. in Human Services Counseling (Family & Children)
ACSI Certification
Years teaching: 2
Email: ajarrell@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2404/2202
May, Mandy
– 8th Grade Class Sponsor
– 6th & 7th English
– 6th, 7th &  8th History
– Coach – MS Girls Basketball
B.S. in Communications from East Carolina University
M.A. in Teaching from East Carolina University
ACSI Certification
Years teaching: 7
Email: amay@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2601
Newbern, Annette
– Art (K3 – 12th)
– Computer (5th-8th) 
– ACSI Art Festival Coordinator
B.S. in Commercial Art/Graphic Design; Minor in Computer Technology & Marketing, Appalachian State University
Years teaching: 8
ACSI Certification
Email: anewbern@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2403
Richardson, Scottie
– Boys’ Strength & Conditioning high school elective
– Athletic Director
– Coach – Varsity Boys Basketball
B.S. in Marketing/Management, Meredith College
ACSI Certification
Years teaching: 23
Email: srichardson@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2419
Russell, Ryan
– 11th Grade Class Co-Sponsor (Prom)
– 10th, 11th, 12th Bible
– Honors Geometry
– Honors Precalculus
– Praise Band Coordinator
– Student Aide Coordinator
– ACSI Accreditation Coordinator
B.S. in Computer Science & Math, Averett University
M.A. in Christian Education, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
10 years as a youth pastor
Years teaching: 9
ACSI Certification – Professional (Lifetime in progress)
Email: rrussell@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2615
Salinas, Christina
– 12th Grade Homeroom
– 9th &  10th CP English
– 10th Writing & Communications
– 12th Honors English
– 12th Spanish
– Honors Literature
– Senior Sponsor
– B.A. in English (Concentration in Secondary Education), North Carolina State University
Years teaching: 10
ACSI Certified
NC Teaching License
Email: csalinas@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2607
Finley Woodward Woodward, Finley
– Honors Calculus
–  Honors Algebra II
– B.A. in Education, Middle Tennessee State University
Years teaching: 6
Email: fwoodward@ccscolts.org | Phone Extension: 2614